EastGRIP Publication Procedure

The EastGRIP publication procedure aims at making the publications easily available to the wider community as well as ensuring that all EastGRIP members are aware of upcoming publications based on EastGRIP data.

Approval of abstracts

The publication procedure for papers featuring EGRIP data involves 3 steps:

  1. Abstracts of all papers that include EGRIP data not previously published must be approved by the Steering Committee prior to submission.
    An abstract of the paper, including an author list, an outline of which data are presented and journal is sent to the coordinator on the EastGRIP project, Iben Koldtoft, and/or Steering Committee chair, Dorthe Dahl-Jensen, who circulates the abstract to EGRIP member list for approval.
    If no objections are received within the deadline set, the SC and consortia chairs approve the request.
  2. When a paper is accepted by a journal, the first author must supply a preprint of the manuscript to Iben Koldtoft. The preprint of the manuscript is made available to all EGRIP collaborators via the password-protected section of the home page and an abstract that is made available on the public web page.
  3. When a paper is published, the first author must provides Iben Koldtoft with a final version of the paper to be placed on the public EGRIP web page or the password-protected subpage if necessary for copyright reasons.

Back to top

Exceptions of abstracts approval

The person/group responsible for the measurements can present and discuss unpublished data in meeting abstracts and at meetings without obtaining approval. However, the data as such should not appear in printed abstracts, and the presenter should ensure that PowerPoint presentations etc. with unpublished data are not made publicly available.

Back to top

EGRIP acknowledgements

All papers featuring EGRIP data with a EGRIP collaborator as (co-)author must contain the standard acknowledgement paragraph crediting the funding bodies that contributed to the EGRIP logistics effort. Updated January 1st 2021.

The final acknowledgement paragraph reads:

EGRIP is directed and organized by the Centre for Ice and Climate at the Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen. It is supported by funding agencies and institutions in Denmark (A. P. Møller Foundation, University of Copenhagen), USA (US National Science Foundation, Office of Polar Programs), Germany (Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research), Japan (National Institute of Polar Research and Arctic Challenge for Sustainability), Norway (University of Bergen and Trond Mohn Foundation), Switzerland (Swiss National Science  Foundation), France (French Polar Institute Paul-Emile Victor, Institute for Geosciences and Environmental research), Canada (University of Manitoba) and China (Chinese Academy of Sciences and Beijing Normal University).

Back to top